Ballots, polls set for voters


WESTBROOK — Voters in Westbrook, Gorham and Buxton will head to the polls Tuesday to make their choices for local council and school board representatives and several state and federal offices, including district attorney, county commissioner, state representatives, state senators, governor, Congress and the U.S. Senate. They’ll also weigh in on local and state referendum questions.


Polls in Westbrook’s five wards will be open Nov. 6 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Ward 1 and Ward 4 vote at Westbrook Community Center at 426 Bridge St. Ward 2 and Ward 3 vote at Westbrook Armory at 120 Stroudwater St. and Ward 5 votes at Prides Corner Congregational Church at 235 Pride St.

Mike Foley and Deb Shangraw are running for the at-large Westbrook City Council seat, Isabel Mullin and Gary Rairdon for the Ward 4 council seat, Veronica Bates and Kristen Beahm for the Ward 2 School Committee seat and Elizabeth Schultz and Jim Violette for the Ward 5 School Committee seat.

Anna Turcotte is running unopposed for another term as the council’s Ward 3 representative and Steve Berry has no opponent for his Ward 1 School Committee seat. Sue Salisbury is running unopposed for the at-large school committee opening, a position she previously held.

Westbrook voters also will vote on representatives for State Senate District 25 (incumbent Cathy Breen or Cathy Nichols) and State Senate District House District 35 (Jim Bourque or Ann Peoples). Heather Sanborn is running unopposed for State Senate District 28 and Drew Gattine faces no challenger in his bid to continue as the representative for House District 34.

Westbrook City Clerk Angela Holmes said many of Westbrook’s voters are voting without going to the polls. As of Oct. 24, her office had issued 1,667 absentee ballots, approximately 80 more absentee ballots that were cast in the city during the 2014 election, the last time there was a gubernatorial race. Nov. 1 is the last day to request absentee ballots. City Hall that day will be open for voting and registration until 7 p.m.


Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voters in Ward 1-1 will cast their ballots at Gorham Middle School, 106 Weeks Road, voters in Ward 1-2 at Little Falls Activity Center, 40 Acorn St., and voters in Ward 2 vote at the gymnasium of the Gorham Municipal Center, 75 South St.

Gorham voters will select two of the three candidates running for Town Council: Claude Daigle III, Lee Pratt and Virginia Wilder-Cross. For School Committee, Anne Schools and current Chairman Darryl Wright are running for two seats.

Legislative races in Gorham include Linda Sanborn versus incumbent Amy Volk for the State Senate District 30 seat and Roger Densmore versus incumbent Andrew McLean for the House District 27 seat. Maureen Terry is running unopposed for her House District 26 seat.

Voters in Westbrook and Gorham will also be casting ballots in uncontested races for Sheriff and Judge of Probate, and for District Attorney.

Westbrook will be choosing between William Holmes and incumbent Tom Coward for District 4 Cumberland County Commissioner.

Voters in the two communities will also be voting on a local referendum question regarding whether their school departments should enter into an agreement with  other school departments in the area to form the Greater Sebago Education Alliance Regional Service Center. If formed, the regional service center would focus on joint food purchasing; joint professional development; recruitment for substitute teachers and other employees; and English Language Learner student intake.


Voting in Buxton will take place from 6 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Buxton Town Hall, 185 Portland Road. There are no local races.

State races for Buxton voters include: the Senate District 30 seat, incumbent Justin Chenette versus Stavros Mendros for the State Senate District 31 seat, David Durrell versus incumbent Donald Marean for the House District 16 seat and Mark Blier versus Richard Fitzgerald for the House District 22 seat.

Voters in Buxton will also be choosing individuals for a number of York County positions, including treasurer, register of deeds, sheriff, District 3 county commissioner and District 1 District Attorney. Additionally, voters will decide if the county treasurer position should be elected or appointed by county commissioners in the future.

Statewide referendums

Voters in Buxton, Gorham and Westbrook will also be asked to weigh in on a number of state referendum questions, including a citizen initiative about creating a universal home care program; a $30 million bond to improve water quality and wastewater facilities; a $106 million bond for roadway, bridge, railroad, train and port reconstruction and rehabilitation and a $15 million bond for facility upgrades in the state’s community college system.

Michael Kelley can be reached at 780-9106 or or on Twitter @mkelleynews.