Buxton OKs $49.6 million budget for SAD 6


Buxton Town Clerk John Myers, left, at 5:30 a.m. Tuesday administers the oath of office to Hiram Davis as moderator and warden overseeing the election and town meeting Saturday, June 16.

BUXTON — Voters Tuesday filled municipal and School Administrative District 6 positions in addition to passing the district’s $49.6 million school budget.

Buxton voters will decide a municipal budget at a town meeting at 9 a.m. Saturday, June 16, at Town Hall, 185 Portland Road. Kimberly Beam, town treasurer, said the proposed budget is $6.6 million, up $172,627 from the present $6.4 budget. Hiram Davis, moderator, will officiate the town meeting.

In secret balloting Tuesday, Chad Poitras running unopposed was reelected selectman for three years.

In other uncontested town races, Christopher Baldinelli and Keith Emery retained Planning Board seats for three years; Craig Lefebvre was elected to the Planning Board for a one-year term; and David Field and Scott Warchol were elected to three-year terms on the Budget Committee.

Running uncontested for SAD 6 directors were Ellen DeCotiis of Buxton; Trevor Hustos, Hollis; Jeffrey Williams, Limington; and Robert Deakin, Standish. In a change this year, Buxton could vote for all the SAD 6 candidates, irregardless of their hometowns

The SAD 6 budget passed in Buxton by a wide margin, 1,085-533.

In a local referendum, voters narrowly favored an ordinance prohibiting growing, cultivating, selling and retail marijuana social clubs in Buxton 755-711.

Town Clerk John Myers reported 1,771 ballots cast of 6,199 registered voters, representing a 28.57 percent turnout.

Robert Lowell can be reached at 854-2577 or rlowell@keepmecurrent.com