Deertrees Theatre summer schedule

861

Deertrees Theatre is celebrating its 80th anniversary this season. The theater is located at 156 Deertrees Road in Harrison. For tickets, call the box office at 207-583-6747 or go online to www.deertrees-theatre.org.

Friday, June 24
84 Charing Cross Road
7 p.m.

An informal evening of readings from the book by Helene Hanff. An evening of love letters, a love affair with literature and a friendship divided by The Pond. A fundraiser for the season. Pay what you can.

Sunday, June 26
Theatre Open House
5 p.m.
The Island Beats Steel Band
7 p.m.

Come and collect a season brochure, view the artwork, tour the theatre and see the improvements and enter special competitions for tickets. A barbecue and refreshments will be available, so bring a picnic and start the 80th anniversary year with us. Concert, pay what you can.

Thursday, June 30
Jane & The Dragon, Junior Theatre Workshop Camp
4 p.m.

The students have worked for six days on this performance, created from scratch. Pay what you can.

Friday, July 1
Opening night: Around The World in 80 Days
7:30 p.m.

A wildly whacky and hilarious adaption of Jules Verne’s great adventure. Many characters, few actors and boundless energy! $22, $12

Saturday, July 2
Around The World in 80 Days
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Tuesday, July 5
The Maine Frontier
7:30 p.m.

Archived film, photography, oral histories combined with a contemporary original musical score, this presentation sheds new light on the isolated culture and region at a pivotal time in Northern Maine’s history. $15

Wednesday, July 6
The Songwriters Circle
7:30 p.m.

A musical evening with singer/songwriter and guitarist Denny Breau; Maine songstress Emilia Dahlin; and pianist, singer, songwriter and performer Heather Pierson. $22, $12

Thursday, July 7
Around The World in 80 Days, Deertrees New Repertory Company
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Friday, July 8
A Play in Four Days, Young Performers Workshop presentation
7 p.m.

Join this talented group of young actors to see what they have created in the space of a four day workshop. Pay what you can.

Saturday, July 9
Around The World in 80 Days
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Tuesday, July 12
Sebago Long Lake Music Festival
7:30 p.m,

Gypsy Flair: Haydn, Bartok, Brahms. $25, under 21 free

Wednesday, July 13
The Medium, PORTopera’s Young Artist Program
7:30 p.m.

A one-hour, two-act dramatic opera with words and music by Gian Carlo Menotti. Madame Flora, the medium, is terrified when she perceives a supernatural presence during one of her fraudulent séances. $22, $12

Friday, July 15
Opening night: Underfoot In Show Business
7:30 p.m.

This U.S. premiere performance adapted from the book of the same name by Helene Hanff, tells of 999 out of the 1,000 who try to make it in theater and never quite achieve it. A witty and vastly entertaining memoir. $22, $12

Saturday, July 16
Piano Men, The Music of Elton and Billy!
7:30 p.m.
$25, $15

Monday, July 18
Encore/Coda in Concert
In support of Lakes Environmental Association
7:30 p.m.

Music provided by the staff and students of Camp Encore/Coda in support of LEA.
$15

Tuesday, July 19
Sebago Long Lake Music Festival
7:30 p.m.

All Things French: Poulenc, Milhaud, Gaubert, Faure. $25, under 21 free

Wednesday, July 20
Makem & Spain
7:30 p.m.

The third generation of legendary Irish folk musicians, Rory Makem and Mickey and Liam Spain, bring bouzouki, guitar, banjo and vocals alive. $22, $12

Thursday, July 21
Underfoot In Show Business
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Friday, July 22
Portland String Quartet
7:30 p.m.

Haydn, Janacek and Mendelssohn. $22, $12

Saturday, July 23
Underfoot In Show Business
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Tuesday, July 26
Sebago Long Lake Music Festival
7.30 p.m.

Stringfest: Weber, Shostakovich, Mendelssohn. $25, under 21 free

Wednesday, July 27
Rod MacDonald & Dave Rowe
7:30 p.m.

American singer-songwriter and novelist Rod MacDonald and local folk singer-songwriter Dave Rowe. $22, $12

Thursday, July 28
Bold Riley
7:30 p.m.

An acoustic folk band out of western Maine makes its first appearance at Deertrees. $22, $12

Friday, July 29
Underfoot in Show Business
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Sunday, July 31
80th Anniversary Fundraising Gala
6 p.m.

Celebrate in classic 1930s style. Begin the evening at 6 p.m. with wine and hors d’oeuvres of the era. At 7 p.m., move to the theater for a trip down a musical and theatrical memory lane, featuring a variety of musicians, dancers and actors. The show will begin with the same act that was performed on Opening Night in 1936. At 8:15 p.m., the festivities continue backstage with Bubbly, Birthday Cake and Reminiscences. 1930s attire is encouraged to add to the party atmosphere. $45, proceeds will benefit building improvements

Tuesday, Aug. 2
Sebago Long Lake Music Festival
7:30 p.m.
Schubert’s “Trout:” Bottesini, Debussy, Turina, Schubert. $25; under 21 free

Thursday, Aug. 4
Opening night: Terminal Bar
7:30 p.m.

Terminal Bar is an American/Irish black comedy set in the 1920s about an Irish immigrant’s struggles with religion, identity, grief and love. The play is entirely set in a rundown bar among characters on life’s margins. Paddy O’Dwer is an inept conman on the run from authorities while impersonating a priest when something happens that changes everything. $22, $12

Friday, Aug. 5
Terminal Bar
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Saturday, Aug. 6
Beatles for Sale
7:30 p.m.

This popular group of talented musicians from Massachusetts make a welcome return to the theater with the classic sounds of John, Paul, George and Ringo. $25, $15

Tuesday, Aug. 9
Sebago Long Lake Music Festival
7:30 p.m.

Windfest: R. Strauss, Nielsen, Mozart, Dohnanyi. $25; under 21 free

Wednesday, Aug. 10
The Gather Rounders

7:30 p.m.

This Maine-based Bluegrass string band blends traditional and progressive bluegrass and folk into a lush mix of clean harmonies. $22, $12

Thursday, Aug. 11
Dallahan

7:30 p.m.

Back by popular demand, this Celtic band from Scotland plays unique Irish music. With some Hungarian heritage thrown in, they create a unique and seamless musical montage, drawing in influences from jazz, funk, pop and classical music. $22, $12

Friday, Aug. 12
The Don Campbell Band – An Evening of Dan Fogelberg Music

7:30 p.m.

The band will honor and celebrate what would have been Fogelberg’s 65th birthday on Aug. 13. $22, $12

Saturday, Aug. 13
Terminal Bar
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Monday, Aug. 15
Aeterna Trio
7:30 p.m.

Eight years ago on this day, Deertrees Theatre opened its doors for the first time. The Aeterna Trio will perform on this special evening with piano, cello and violin. The three musicians are Ben Birkbeck, piano; Devon Colella, cello; and Andy Happel, violin. The winning ticket for the Anniversary Quilt will be drawn at this event. $22, $12

Wednesday, Aug. 17
Heather Pierson Trio
7:30 p.m.

Heather Pierson is an award‐winning pianist, multi-genre singer/songwriter, arranger, bandleader and performer. Her performerances include everything from New Orleans-style jazz and blues to rousing Americana and poignant folk narratives. $22, $12

Thursday, Aug. 18
Terminal Bar
7:30 p.m.
$22, $12

Friday, Aug. 19
New Black Eagle Jazz Band
7:30 p.m.

This seven-piece band have been together since 1971 and play New Orleans-style jazz, gospel and blues. $22, $12