Local wrestlers qualify for New England Championships


This Friday, wrestlers from all over New England will converge on Lowell High School in Lowell, Mass. for the 44th Annual New England Interscholastic Wrestling Championships. Several local wrestlers have qualified for the meet by virtue of their top three finishes in last week’s state championship meets.

Recently crowned state champion Massabesic qualified eight wrestlers. Joey and Josh Eon, who each won state titles for the third straight year, qualified at 140 pounds and 171 pounds. Gage Derosier qualified thanks to a runner-up finish at 103 pounds, Peter Gilman was the runner-up at 135 pounds to qualify.

By virtue of their wins in the consolation round at the state championship meet, the Mustangs’ Ethan Norwald qualified at 119 pounds, Derek Cloutier qualified at 152 pounds, Ike Brochu qualified at 160 pounds and Alex Holland qualified at 189 pounds.

Bonny Eagle qualified two wrestlers. Steve Martin qualified for the Scots when he won the state championship at 152 pounds. Dalton Groeger was the runner-up at 112 pounds to earn a spot at the New Englands.

Sanford qualified three wrestlers. Zach Clarke won the state championship at 125 pounds to earn a spot in the meet. Paul Rivard was the runner-up at 145 pounds to earn a spot in the meet. Tony Labbe won his consolation bout at 215 pounds to earn a place at the New England championship.

Westbrook qualified three wrestlers for the meet. Andrew Drouin was the runner-up at 189 pounds to qualify. Harrison Strondak was the winner in the consolation match at 135 pounds to earn a spot and Nick Marchant won the consolation match at 171 pounds to qualify.

Nate Lavallee qualified for Cape Elizabeth thanks to his state championship win at 285 pounds. Lavallee is the only qualifier from Cape Elizabeth.