Pomerleau, Higgins reelected to Standish Council


Standish residents voted Tuesday at the town municipal building. 

STANDISH — Town Council Chairwoman Kimberly Pomerleau fended off a challenge from Budget Committee member Christine Gamarsh, and Councilor Isabel Higgins was reelected after running unopposed. 

Pomerleau received 1,001 voted to Gamarsh’s 514 in the race for an At Large council seat, and Higgins received 1,416 votes to retain her Area 1 seat. 

Patricia Knight won the town’s only contested Planning Board Race over Deborah Boxer by a margin of of 755-551. Planning Board Chairman Adam Higgins and appointed incumbents Jolene Whittimore and Charles Brown each ran unopposed an won three other Planning Board seats. 

Todd Delaney was elected to the Budget Committee as the only candidate on the ballot for six openings on that committee. 

Standish voters also approved five bond referendum questions for more than $430,000 in improvements to the central fire station, $250,000 for a server and software for the assessment office along with land acquisition for town facilities and open space, $18,000 for improvements to the Memorial Park playground to accompany a more than $53,000 grant, $135,000 for public works equipment, and nearly $993,000 for paving and other road improvements.